"Athletic" Hall of Fame Eligibility

The Niagara Wheatfield High School Hall of Fame was established to formally honor the memory and contributions of the many outstanding athletes, coaches, administrators, teachers and supporters of the Niagara Wheatfield Central School District. The Athletic Hall of Fame serves as a symbol of our appreciation of the excellence, honor, and devotion displayed by these celebrated individuals and teams.

NOMINATION AND SELECTION PROCESS

- 1. A maximum of ten individuals will be inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame during any given school year.
- 2. Any person(s) may submit a nomination; an individual may NOT nominate himself or herself for induction.
- 3. All nominations will be presented to the selection committee.
- 4. Once an individual has been nominated, their nomination will remain active for a period of three years or until such time they are inducted.
- 5. Each respective selection committee shall consist of NW Alumni, NW contributors, past inductees, members of the Board of Directors and current members of the NW faculty and support staff.
- 6. To be approved for induction, a candidate must receive votes from a majority of the selection committee.

INDUCTION/NOMINATION CRITERIA:

1. Athlete Criteria for Induction

- a. Athletes will be eligible for induction five years after graduation.
- b. The athlete must have attended NW Senior High School for a minimum of two years and be a graduate of NW Senior High School.
- c. The athlete must have conducted himself/herself in such a way as to reflect honor on the school and must have exhibited those qualities of character and standards of conduct consistent with their status as a role model to the community.
- d. The Niagara Wheatfield Hall of Fame Board of Directors and/or the Niagara Wheatfield Administration in conjunction with the NW Hall of Fame Board of Directors, High School reserves the right to remove any individual from the Hall of Fame for personal conduct, which reflects discredit upon the school.

e. Automatic Induction

i. 1st Team All-State Selection

- ii. <u>Individual State Champion</u>: In track and field, wrestling, swimming, bowling or any other individual sport
- iii. <u>Team State Champion</u>: Any NW varsity team that wins a State Championship is included within this criterion and will be inducted as a group and not individually
- f. **Strong Consideration**: Athletes who meet two (2) or more of the following criteria will be given strong consideration for automatic induction:
 - i. State Qualifier
 - ii. State Tournament Series Record Holder
 - iii. School Record Holder
 - iv. Division I Athletic Scholarship Recipient
 - v. NY State Association 2nd Team, 3rd Team, or Honorable Mention All-State
 - vi. All-WNY Selection three or more times during career
 - vii. Outstanding Statistical Achievement in an Individual Sport or Sports (i.e., 1000 career points in basketball); all statistics must be verifiable through print media, official school records
 - viii. Hewitt or PAL Award winner
 - ix. NW Male or Female Athlete of the Year

2. <u>Coaches Criteria for Induction:</u>

a. The individual must have coached a varsity team at a NW Senior High School for a minimum of 10 years.

b. Automatic Induction

i. Member of a recognized State Hall of Fame in the sport that he/she coached.

c. Strong Consideration

- i. Coaches exhibiting outstanding achievement in two or more of the categories below:
 - 1. (3) Sectional Championships
 - 2. (3) League Championships
 - 3. (2) Far-West Regional Qualifiers
 - 4. (1) State finalist or semi-finalist
 - 5. Coach of the Year honors by recognized coaching organizations or media groups
 - 6. Career winning percentage at NW of over 600
 - 7. Athletic success of individuals coached
 - 8. Years of coaching service to NW Central School District
 - 9. Leadership roles in local, national/state coaching associations
 - 10. Member of a state coaching Board of Directors

Nomination forms will always be available and can be found on the NWCSD website, <u>http://www.niagarawheatfieldhof.org</u> or at the District Office, 5700 West Street, Sanborn.

Nominations must be submitted by May 1st.